The Christmas Joy Offering — support our leaders: past, present and future.

Food Week of Action and World Food Day

 

world-food-day-educate
world-food-day-worship
world-food-day-act

We envision a world where  everyone has enough affordable, healthy and culturally appropriate food where no one is hungry, and where all who work in the food chain
are fairly compensated, respected and celebrated!

Join us in building more equitable and ecological food & farm systems!

The Global Food Week of Action includes World Food Day (Oct. 16), International Day for Rural Women (Oct. 15), and International Day for the Eradication of Poverty (Oct. 17).


2019 Action Areas

CLIMATE JUSTICE: The climate crisis calls for action at every level — personal, institutional, national and global.
FAMINE: The resurgence of famine and extreme hunger in several parts of the world requires a rapid response.
FOOD SOVEREIGNTY: Actions to expand agroecology, food justice, and food sovereignty cool the planet and meet people’s need for sustenance, livelihoods, and agency.


The DAYS of the FOOD WEEK OF ACTION

SPECIAL KICK-OFF EVENT

Oct 10 — 2019 Food Sovereignty Prize Ceremony — Livestream and Event in Ferguson, Missouri!
Join the Food Sovereignty Prize Livestream at 8:30pm ET / 7:30pm CT / 6:30pm MT / 5:30pm PT on the USFSA Facebook page.
Learn about the domestic and international honorees here

Oct 13 — Launch of Food Week of ActionParticipate in and advocate on Bread for the World Sunday

Oct 14 — Tell BlackRock: Stop Financing Amazon and Climate Destruction!

Oct 15 — International Day for Rural Women
Stand with Farm Workers Against Gender-Based Violence using the Harvest of Justice Materials

Oct 16 — World Food DayHold a Food Sovereignty Prize Ceremony Livestream Watch Party

Oct 17 — Participate in the Webinar – Brazil to US: Youth Leading Social Movements Today
1:00pm Pacific / 4:00pm Eastern – Presented by Levante Popular Da Juventude (Brazil) and the U.S. Food Sovereignty Alliance’s Youth Collective; RSVP here

Oct 18 — Take the Climate Care Challenge or Sign the People’s Demands for Climate Justice — Commit to a personal and collective action and find out your current carbon footprint

Oct 19 — Support Farm to School in the Child Nutrition Reauthorization Act — Calls to Senators and Representatives to cosponsor two related bills.
– The Farm to School Act of 2019 (S.2026, H.R.3562) – fact sheet
– Kids Eat Local Act (S.1817, H.R.3220) – fact sheet

Oct 20 — Preach about World Food Day and Support PHP’s Response to Famine — Help provide aid to Yemen, Nigeria, South Sudan and Somalia

Finally, celebrate the launch of Cincy Cleaning cooperative on October 21.
The team of ten immigrants has been hard at work shaping their co-op during the past 11 months. Excitingly, they were just awarded a $15,000 start-up loan from the Seed Commons Cooperative which allows them to officially launch on October 21. Cincy Cleaning Co is supported by one of Food Week’s co-sponsors, the Cincinnati Union Coop Initiative (CUCI). More here


Publicize your event, action or worship service happening in October, during Food Week, or on World Food Day!

Fill out this form to get your event on the map.


Map of Actions and Events
Listing of Actions and Events
You can join the Food Week of Action from wherever you are.
Let us know you are ‘Going’ on the Food Week Facebook event.


Educational Materials

Bring food sovereignty to your church, community and town. Download the Food Sovereignty for All: Overhauling Our Food System with Faith-Based Initiatives Guide and make a plan to do the Just Eating? Practicing Our Faith at the Table curriculum. pcusa.org/justeating

Worship and Theological Resources

Co-Sponsors