Building a Life of Faith. Give to the Pentecost Offering.

Who We Are


About Us

Mission Statement

The Advisory Committee on Social Witness Policy (ACSWP) serves the prophetic calling of the whole Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) by providing the General Assembly with careful studies of pressing moral challenges, media for discussion and discernment of Christian responsibilities, and policy recommendations for faithful action.

What is the role of the Advisory Committee on Social Witness Policy?

The Advisory Committee on Social Witness Policy is responsible for the process of developing and recommending social witness policy to the General Assembly. The term “social witness policy” refers to the positions adopted by the General Assembly to express its stance on and guide response to issues in the public order, including their relation to the church’s own life and mission. These positions may take the form of policy statements, resolutions, study papers, or social involvement reports, as defined in the Manual of the General Assembly, Guidelines and Policies of the General Assembly, p. 55-58.

Who sits on the ACSWP?

The Advisory Committee on Social Witness Policy (ACSWP) is a twelve-member committee, which represents a cross-section of members from the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) and is elected by the General Assembly. Three members also serve on the General Assembly Mission Council. Current ACSWP members are:

Bev Brewster
Beverly Brewster
Fairfax, CA
Jean Demmler
Jean Demmler
Denver, CO
Linda Eastwood
Linda Eastwood
Chicago, IL
Rachael Eggebeen
Tucson, AZ
Kevin R. Johnson
Detroit, MI
Raymond Roberts (Co-Chair)
Richmond, VA
Sylvia Thorson-Smith
Sylvia Thorson-Smith
Tucson, AZ
Rob Trawick
Rob Trawick
New City, NY
Gloria Tuma
Portland, OR
Steven Webb (Co-Chair)
Reston, VA

Liaisons: ACWC & ACREC

Terry Alexander
Advocacy Committee for Women’s Concerns
Newland, NC
Nahida Gordon
Advocacy Committee for Racial Ethnic Concerns
Wooster, OH


Staff Liaisons

Vernon Broyles
Office of the General Assembly
Catherine Gordon
Office of Public Witness (DC)
Sara Lisherness—Director
Compassion, Peace and Justice
Ryan D. Smith
Presbyterian Ministry at the UN


Courtney Hoekstra



Christian T. Iosso
Lacey Gilliam
Mission Specialist