July 17 – International Justice Day

International Justice Day – July 17 – marks the birthday of the International Criminal Court (ICC). The Faith and Ethics Network of the International Criminal court suggests several ways congregations could observe this day:

• Discuss the importance of the ICC;

• Draw attention to ongoing atrocities where the ICC could make a difference.

Learn about the ICC.

• Encourage the United States to join and ratify the ICC.

The 211th General Assembly (1999) of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) passed the following resolution supporting the creation of the ICC and encouraging the United States to sign on to and ratify the ICC:

  1. Commend the United Nations and the International Conference in Rome for the drafting and adoption of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC).
  2.  Affirm the need for international judicial mechanisms for the administration of justice capable of addressing major categories of crime with consistent application for all countries.
  3. Call upon all governments to be diligent in the conduct of affairs, preventing those acts that might constitute offenses of international character as defined by law, holding their own citizens accountable.
  4. Call upon the United States administration to provide international leadership by signing the treaty, submitting it to the Senate for ratification, and supporting the creation of the International Criminal Court.
  5. Call upon the United States Senate for prompt consideration and ratification of the treaty.
  6. Encourage Presbyterians to learn about the International Criminal Court and the necessity for its creation, and to support the participation of the United States in the International Criminal Court.
  7. Request that the appropriate offices of the General Assembly make available information for study.
  8. Direct the Stated Clerk to communicate this resolution and its background information to the secretary general of the United Nations, the president of the United States, the secretary of state, the secretary of defense, and every member of the United States Senate.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)